Every child a wanted child

by Ms Dentata

This post is another fine example of my procrastination skills. I’ve taken a mental health day off uni today- I had awful, tiring, scary nightmares once I finally drifted off last night, this weekend is the final weekend the kids (my partner’s, 2 of them, aged 4 and 10) will be in the country, and I don’t have my usual Friday therapy this week. It just all seemed like a bit too much, so I thought I’d stay at home and get some study procrastinating done while hanging out with the cat.

But instead, I’m raging. About National attempting to reduce welfare even further, cutting support for pregnant women on the dole, this 3 year old girl not being able to get basic healthcare in NZ: here, I am raging that today, Cuba Kebabs STAFF directed homophobic abuse at a customer, and I am also rather fuming about this and this and especially this and I’m also really mad that my beautiful friend got beaten in the street a few weeks ago after he finished closing up (late) at his job in a sex toy store. This world is just really enraging sometimes.

Today I’ll write about the latest thing that’s happened to edge me closer and closer towards feminist hulk:

Last weekend, Victoria University were terrific hosts to a pro-choice gathering. People from around the country dedicated to working towards reproductive freedom and improving the current abortion law congregated in Wellington and talked and cuddled babies and ate good food and had wonderful amazing filthy hippie type times together. It was a really great weekend, and I ended up more clucky than ever due to cuddling all of the adorable little infants in attendance over the weekend. I got to meet some amazing new people and I’m going to take on some hysterical broad in the media duties and start making a bit of a fuss.

While this was happening, someone walked into the Womens Room in the Student Union Building on that very same campus and ripped down posters, stole and destroyed books on abortion, and tore and vandalised pro-choice zines from the zine library. While WE were organising around extending our political rights and strengthening social justice in this country, someone was taking a stand against us by PHYSICALLY DESTROYING our space.

Shit just got real, huh? This dialogue of violence, dominating dialogue with their moralising and controlling ideas about fertility, sexuality, and bodies, and refusing to engage in mature debate about the subject- that sure seems to be a trend in the anti-choice brigade.

If they’d thought it through, they would have realised it would just motivate us all to hold onto this struggle- we talked at conference about how the anti-choice side would not listen to our opinions quietly. Implementing effective legislative reform and removing abortion from the Crimes Act will raise the hackles of the conservatives and the religious nutters. And I want to piss in their churches, to reclaim the vandalism of the women’s room. But I probably won’t.

